Breaking: SWPC Upgrades Geomagnetic Storm Current Conditions to G-4 (Severe)


Space Weather Prediction Center Upgrades Geomagnetic Storm …

Update: Continued G4 (Severe) Geomagnetic Storming Observed
published: Friday, September 08, 2017 02:24 UTC

G4 (Severe) geomagnetic storm levels were observed at 23:50 UTC (19:50 Eastern) on 07 September and again at 01:51 UTC (21:51 Eastern) on 08 September due to effects from a coronal mass ejection. A G3 (Strong) or greater warning continues to be in effects until 06:00 UTC (02:00 Eastern) on 08 September.

G 4 Severe

Power systems: Possible widespread voltage control problems and some protective systems will mistakenly trip out key assets from the grid.

Spacecraft operations: May experience surface charging and tracking problems, corrections may be needed for orientation problems.

Other systems: Induced pipeline currents affect preventive measures, HF radio propagation sporadic, satellite navigation degraded for hours, low-frequency radio navigation disrupted, and aurora has been seen as low as Alabama and northern California (typically 45° geomagnetic lat.).

source

#Amazing Weather #Videos – Breaking: SWPC Upgrades Geomagnetic Storm Current Conditions to G-4 (Severe) #Weather and #News

You May Also Like